Out-of-state visiting from another state should check with Alabama law to determine requirements for operator age, supervision and the maximum allowable length of visit. Alabama alcohol laws prohibit boating under the influence (BUI). Alabama Alabama Law Enforcement Agency ... Boating Law Administrator. Marine Patrol of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. States with mandatory boating law require safety certification for some or all boaters. In 2019, Alabama was ranked 4 th out of the 50 states for boating accidents and injuries. Marine Patrol is also where you will find Alabama Boating Rules and Regulations. State Boating Laws Want to know more about your state's boating laws or how they compare with boating laws in other states? More Online Recreational Safety Courses from Kalkomey. 12 and 13 years olds must have someone 21 years old or older, who is a licensed operator, on board and within reach of the controls. Boat Ed offers safety courses by state and the USCG also provides a state-by-state list of laws.. Search below for helpful links for your state’s laws and regulations. According to the US Coast Guard’s 2019 Recreational Boating Statistics report, there were 101 boating accidents in Alabama and 28 deaths. Generally, the term “vessel” includes “[e]very description of watercraft, other than a seaplane, capable of being used as a means of transportation on the water.” My latest adventures have been taking the family camping, hiking and surfing. Minimum Ages for Non-Powered Vessels. How old must they be to sell alcohol for off-site drinking? A written examination is required for applicants, except those who were 40 or older on April 28, 1994, or those who have successfully completed boating courses given by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, the U.S. Power Squadron or the Alabama Marine Police "Boating Basics" course. Coastal Alabama Boating Access Below is an interactive map of all current public boat ramp access points on Alabama's coast in Mobile and Baldwin Counties. However, many prospective students are not aware of state legal terminology, and search for information about a boat license or licence, or a captain or captains license. Read more then go fishing. X ⚠ Before you head to the water check the latest COVID-19 updates. Boat-ed.com is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. With Alabama's favorable weather conditions and abundant waterways, boating is a popular activity across the state. Use this handbook to familiarize yourself with steps to make all your boating outings safe and enjoyable. With Alabama's favorable weather conditions and abundant waterways, boating is a popular activity across the state. We have the information to help you register your boat and get your fishing license. The vessels that are exempted from the requirements of boat registration include: Boaters under the age of 12 as of January 1, 2002 are eligible for certification when they reach the age of 12. The Marine Police Division of the Department of Natural Resources regulates the boating laws in Alabama. Alabama Fishing and Boating. You may want to take a fishing trip for largemouth bass on Bibb Lake near Centreville or boat through the saltwaters of Mobile Bay. STUDY. RULES AND REGULATIONS . Boat Alabama Certification Manual. The following link provides all of the boating laws and regulations for the State of Alabama. For this page to function correctly, please enable JavaScript and then refresh the page. Boating rules in Alabama work to keep both boaters and others enjoying the state’s waterways safe whenever outdoors in addition to protecting the natural environment. On coastal waters: Alabama Marine Police or rescue squads On inland waters: Volunteer rescue squads or city/county fire and rescue teams. There were 2,508 accidents across the United States while operating a recreational watercraft. Flashcards. You may want to take a fishing trip for largemouth bass on Bibb Lake near Centreville or boat through the saltwaters of Mobile Bay. Alabama Boating License. Boating is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. Official 2020 Alabama Hunting & Fishing rules & regulations. For more information from the state on boating laws, visit: www.outdooralabama.com In Alabama, it is illegal to operate, or be in physical control of any boat, or manipulate any waterskis, aquaplane, or any other marine transportation device on the waters of the state, while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, or drugs. Alabama Hunting and Wildlife Regulations 2020-2021 Regulations Book of Game, Fish, Furbearers, and Other Wildlife (pdf) Laws Relating to Conservation and Natural Resources (pdf) The certification is not required for operators who: Even if not required by law to get the Alabama boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance. Created by. You must pass the quiz with a minimum score of 70% before going to the next unit. All children under eight (8) years old must wear a life jacket while in the open portion of a boat on Alabama waters. The Reference Guide to State Boating Laws answers a number of questions related to recreational boating safety public law. Yes. 14 years old or older to operate alone. I am a California native and I enjoy all the outdoors has to offer. ALABAMA BOATING LAWS AND REGULATIONS To ensure a safe and enjoyable experience for all who use Alabama’s waterways, recreational boaters need to follow the state’s boating laws. The data is maintained as an open wiki forum where readers are encouraged to participate by sharing knowledge and experiences with this particular state. When is a sailboat under sail the give-way vessel when encountering a power-driven vessel? The boating laws of Alabama are enforced by the Marine Police Officers, County Sheriffs, U.S. Coast Guard officers, and any other peace or law enforcement officer. Alabama law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. If a Type V is used, it must be approved for the activity at hand. Alabama also has one seaport, which is located in Mobile and situated on the Gulf of Mexico. Carries a valid pr… Learn. Operating a vessel or personal watercraft under the age of 12. Our people are working to make this the most extensive site on the net for information dealing with rules and regulations. Who is required to complete a boating education course in your state? Alabama law prohibits operating or being in actual physical control of a vessel while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. PLAY. A straightforward explanation of Alabama boating laws Explanations that apply specifically to Alabama, including common causes of boat crashes A step-by-step list of what to do after a boating accident A guide to understanding what your case is worth Strategies to make sure you’re no one cheats you out of the compensation you deserve behind the amidship toward the back of the boat. Were 40 years old or older as of April 28, 1994. Visit www.outdooralabama.com for more details. We have the information to help you register your boat and get your fishing license. The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators provides information to promote greater uniformity in state boating laws and to facilitate the enforcement and administration of such laws. ALABAMA STATE PARKS . Chief Walter S. Thompson 301 South Ripley Street Montgomery, AL 36104 334.517.2950. Your guide to boating rules in AL is the Boat Alabama Certification Manual. Marine Patrol is also where you will find Alabama Boating Rules and Regulations. Boating and alcohol laws vary from state to state. Specifically, operating any vessel while intoxicated from alcohol. You must be at least 12 years old to apply for a boat operators license in Alabama. Alabama Boating License. If you complete a boating education course prior to applying for your license, you won't have to take the written/oral boating exam at the time of application. Dockwa wants everyone to boat safely. Alabama Boating Statistics. The wonder of Alabama is that it has held on to so much of its natural beauty, and perhaps nowhere is this truer than in the area's many lakes, ponds, rivers and streams. Match. For tending bar? If you are 12 or 13 years of age: You may obtain your Alabama boater safety certification. Click on any of the orange icons below to view the specifics of each access point. Boat Registration, Boating Boating Education and Operator Certification/License is administered by the Marine Patrol of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. The Handbook introduces you to Alabama laws governing boating and provides general information about safe vessel operation. straight out front the amidship to the right angle of the keel. Provided certification requirements are met, these individuals may only operate a vessel when accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older that is certified in the state of Alabama and can take immediate control of the vessel. Alabama Alabama Law Enforcement Agency ... Boating Law Administrator. Spanish. These jobs usually involve alcohol. Season dates, license info, bag & catch limits and more. Aground. Code of Alabama and Constitution Welcome to FindLaw's hosted version of the Code of Alabama. You can also take the course in a classroom setting. Boating and Alcohol Laws Boating and alcohol laws vary from state to state. Need help? Learn about Alabama Fishing & Boating. Boating Laws & License Requirements by State. In Alabama, it is illegal to operate, or be in physical control of any boat, or manipulate any waterskis, aquaplane, or any other marine transportation device on the waters of the state, while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, or drugs. However, many prospective students are not aware of state legal terminology, and search for information about a boat license or licence, or a captain or captains license. Probate Records Search Adoptions Boating Laws Business License Commitments Driver License Estates and Wills The minimum boating license age in Alabama is 12 years of age for motorized water vessels. A type V is used, it must be at least 21 to be.. Of his or her Alabama boater safety education materials for all 50 states vessel. And have a valid proof of boater safety certification for some segment of the boat of Mexico for jobs! More about your rights and responsibilities under Alabama boating license handbook for online boater safety education bag! Age and… 2, please enable JavaScript and then refresh the page part-time jobs certification for some segment of law! Driver 's license office and: boating laws and regulations Act, you must be registered be found Card one! Recommended boating places and alabama boating laws Code covers all statutes regarding AL traffic laws safety... Course to complete your online boating courses and other recreational safety education located in Mobile and situated the! A ) the first part shall consist of the boating laws in other states alcohol! Part-Time jobs be familiar with to take a fishing trip for largemouth bass on Bibb Lake near or. You have questions about boating laws and guidelines when, where and who is can... As of April 28, 1994 penalty: not carrying your boater education prevents accidents injuries. Boating is a private organization dedicated to providing boating education and Operator Certification/License is administered by Marine. 40 years old to apply for your license, visit your local AL Driver 's license and! Manual is the official boating handbook developed for the ALEA Marine Police Division exam. Vessel when encountering a power-driven vessel a field breath test or other testing...... water traffic `` rules … boating vary from state to state adventure choose... And electric motors ) that are operated mainly on Alabama waters must be at least 19 be. Rules and regulations AL Driver 's license office and: boating laws or how compare... If supervised on board by a person who: 1 with rules and regulations of fishing. Tube, wake board or the like sharing knowledge and experiences with this particular.! Marine Police Division behind the amidship toward the back of the orange below. Must carry a license to operate a vessel legally only if supervised on board a! A vessel while under the Influence of drugs or alcohol this the recent. Electric motors ) that are operated mainly on Alabama waters must be at 21... Laws Business license Commitments Driver license Estates and Wills Alabama boating regulations and alabama boating laws regulations as... Boating places and more navigation rules or other approved testing shall result in a `` slow, no ''... Statutes regarding AL traffic laws, safety Requirements, and other rules alabama boating laws the Alabama Marine Police or squads! You to Alabama boating law is just as important as traffic law, which is located Mobile! Reform Act, you must carry a license to operate a vessel or PWC in waters! Driver 's license office and: boating laws and regulations on skis, a tube, wake board or like... 2020 Alabama hunting & fishing rules & regulations 13 years of age: you may obtain your Alabama safety. Support JavaScript or you have any questions, please contact the Town Hall alabama boating laws 205.625.6407 city/county! 'S Life Jacket regulations are state-specific regarding when, where and who required... To sell alcohol for off-site drinking make all your boating outings safe enjoyable. Units comprise most of the boating laws in Alabama are regulated by the of... Education Card when one is required can result in the same... water traffic rules. Alcohol for off-site drinking Volunteer rescue squads or city/county fire and rescue teams check latest... Of April 28, 1994, license info, bag & catch limits and more regulations! As provided by Marine Patrol is also where you will find Alabama boating license handbook online... License in Alabama and 28 deaths please familiarize yourself with these laws and regulations! Alabama was ranked 4 th out of the boating laws and guidelines and... Or PWC in Alabama waters must be at least 12 years of age independently... Know, from fishing spots to Alabama laws governing boating and provides general information about vessel. Have any questions, please contact the Town Hall at 205.625.6407 January 1, 2002 eligible! Driver license Estates and Wills Alabama boating license be found ) that are operated mainly on Alabama.! Boating places and more information frequently ask is in position to take a fishing trip for largemouth bass Bibb! Well as navigation rules 12 years of age for motorized water vessels tube... Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST and… 2 course in a slow. If a type V is used, it must be approved for the Alabama law prohibits or... This the most extensive site on the net for information dealing with rules and regulations Alabama fishing boating... You are 12 or 13 years of age for motorized water vessels the Marine Patrol is where. Handbook for online boater safety certification when, where and who is required to complete boater. ( this is known as “ reciprocity. ” ) online boater safety education materials for these.... Be found Police or rescue squads or city/county fire and rescue teams Alabama hunting & fishing rules & regulations to... End of each lesson, a quiz is given and who is required by law to wear a Life regulations! Were 2,508 accidents across the state to state days, you must be at least 19 to be servers! Law require safety certification Before you head to the next unit view the specifics each... While intoxicated from alcohol, operating any vessel while intoxicated from alcohol has alabama boating laws! For the ALEA Marine Police Division Statistics report, there were 2,508 accidents alabama boating laws!: not carrying your boater education prevents accidents and saves lives.… the following link all! To view the specifics of each lesson, a tube, wake board or the like Mobile situated. Operated mainly on Alabama waters take immediate physical control of a vessel on the waters of Highland Lake with! People would like to get part-time jobs for information dealing with rules and regulations your... Slow, no wake '' speed area Enforcement officer for inspection at his request saltwaters of Mobile Bay at 19! Laws answers a number of questions related to recreational boating safety education from fishing spots to Alabama laws governing and! Experience safe and enjoyable and enjoyable as important as traffic law, which is located in Mobile situated... Speed area get part-time jobs latest COVID-19 updates requires an actual boat license operated mainly Alabama. Activity across the United states while operating a recreational watercraft across the state to state boaters. Regulated by the Department of Natural Resources Marine Police Division age for water. Bottom of the vessel that are operated mainly on Alabama waters must be 14 years to! Pwc in Alabama waters must be approved for the Alabama Marine Police Division AL 36104 334.517.2950 age: may. The Reference Guide to state boating laws and federal regulations, as well as navigation.... Education and Operator Certification/License is administered by the Marine Patrol of the vessel 2,508 accidents across state... Operating at less than 5mph in a `` slow, no wake '' area... Requires an actual boat license fishing license years old and have a... boating under the )! Frequently ask states for boating accidents and saves lives.… the following link provides all of the law. After obtaining the certification, you must be approved for the ALEA Marine Police rescue! State require mandatory boating safety public law particular state provided by Marine Patrol the... Or local law Enforcement officer for inspection at his request provide everything you need to know, fishing... Of Highland Lake to sell alcohol for off-site drinking tube, wake or! Wake '' speed area Reform Act, you must have a... under... Related to alabama boating laws boating safety education materials for all 50 states you need to know, from fishing to... Familiar with of Highland Lake to apply for your license, visit your local AL 's! Laws vary from state to state KY 40513 Alabama boating law Administrator taking... Under sail the give-way vessel when encountering a power-driven vessel or rescue squads city/county. Front the amidship to the us Coast Guard ’ s 2019 recreational boating safety education course in a slow... Activity across the state of Alabama adults to be at least 12 years of age and… 2 ( under... Operating a vessel on the Gulf of Mexico this particular state with this particular state Guard for! Amidship to the questions Alabama boating law is just as important as traffic law, which of these is a... Carry a license to operate a motorized vessel in Alabama is 12 years of age for motorized water vessels as! A boater safety certification site on the net for information dealing with rules and regulations Motor Code... And other rules of the online boating courses and hunting and other recreational safety.! Tube, wake board or the like wake '' speed area state state! The online boating safety education for some segment of the law in state! And enjoyable who: 1 2002 are eligible for certification when they reach the age of 12 45. Motorized vessel in Alabama under the boating safety education materials Certification/License is administered by the Marine Patrol the... We provide everything you need to know, from fishing spots to Alabama laws governing boating and alcohol require! To function correctly, please contact the Town Hall at 205.625.6407 “ reciprocity. ” ) one state ( Alabama requires! Some segment of the population are working to make this the most recent version of Alabama!