Can I get married by proxy? How to Get Legally Ordained Licensed Commissioned in Wisconsin, State Marriage Laws, perform Marriage Ceremony, Officiate a Wedding with Minister Ordination Wisconsin Marriage Laws and Get … Regulations for marrying a prisoner will vary from prison to prison, but most institutions require a Marriage Packet Request to get permission to marry the prisoner. Applicants must sign the marriage license section before the ceremony, preferably in the County Clerk’s Office. Do we have to live in Wisconsin to get married in Wisconsin? After the marriage, a marriage certificate is issued and this is the official Wisconsin marriage record … Marriage Skip to related topics, library resources, and law review articles Wisconsin. This includes all ministers, including online ordained ministers of American Marriage Ministries. Additionally, you must provide your Social Security number, though the card is not required. There are 22 references cited in this article, which can be found at the bottom of the page. Get to the clerk’s office. Also, get a written contract from the venue you select. If you wait too long, you can't get married without applying for and paying for another marriage license. However, you will not automatically receive a copy of your marriage certificate. After you are married, your officiant will complete the marriage license and sign it before sending it to the County Recorder of Deeds within three days of the wedding. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit. Anyone under 16 may not marry in Wisconsin. The guardian or person who has legal custody of the minor if both parents are dead or if parental rights have been terminated by judicial proceedings. Wisconsin does not allow proxy marriages, so both of you must be physically present for the wedding ceremony. Get your official Wisconsin Marriage certificates online for birth or death certificate, joint taxes, insurance, social security benefits. A Wisconsin resident who will be getting married in Wisconsin must apply for a marriage license at the County Clerk’s office in the county which one of the applicants has been living for the last 30 days. You want someone you feel comfortable with. A valid photo ID, such as your driver’s license or state-issued ID card. Find instructions on filing for a marriage license, civil wedding ceremonies, and a listing of civil officiants. Locations that distribute marriage licenses are typically located in the County Clerk office. In Wisconsin, a court may only annul a marriage in the following circumstances: (1) Either party to the marriage lacked the capacity to consent to the marriage when the marriage occurred. She's the co-author of The Everything Great Marriage Book. You and your betrothed need to go down to the local county clerk's office together with your photo ID and official birth certificate at least 6 days, but not more than 30 days, before your wedding ceremony. Fill out the application. The Kenosha County Clerk’s office can be found in the Kenosha County Administration Building at 1010 56th Street. WISCONSIN MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION (for Mail or In-Person Requests) PENALTIES: Any person who illegally possesses any vital record with knowledge that the vital record has been illegally obtained is guilty of a Class I felony [a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 3 years and 6 months, or both, per Wis. Stat. Cousin marriages are generally not allowed in Wisconsin. Be bold and try a non-traditional dessert, such as cream puffs, Danish pastry, or fudge-bottom pie. Applying for Your License 1. If you’re a Wisconsin resident getting married in the Badger State, you must … Congratulations on choosing to get married in the state of Wisconsin. 3. When the U.S. Supreme Court denied reviewing Wisconsin's same-sex marriage case in October 2014, same-sex marriages were allowed to begin in the state immediately. Wisconsin has clear-cut laws for annulment and if you want to get your marriage annulled instead of divorce then you should know the basics of annulment. Please help us continue to provide you with our trusted how-to guides and videos for free by whitelisting wikiHow on your ad blocker. We use cookies to make wikiHow great. You should apply in the county where one of you has resided for the last 30 days if at least one of you is a Wisconsin resident. No, there is no residency requirement for marriage in the state of Wisconsin. We typically advise ministers of Wisconsin to get a Complete Minister Package for Wisconsin which includes your Letter of Good Standing. If you were married, you’ll need some proof of the divorce, such as a judgment of divorce or legal annulment. … The couple must apply together and in person. Information for marriage applicants and officiants (WI Dept. New Marriage Certificate, Replace Marriage Certificate, Copy of Marriage Certificate. However, you can marry a first cousin if the female is age 55 or older or either party has been sterilized. Is marriage among family relations allowed? wikiHow's Content Management Team carefully monitors the work from our editorial staff to ensure that each article is backed by trusted research and meets our high quality standards. The court order does not end the marriage but allows the court to issue orders about spousal support, a division of assets, and child visitation and custody. There is generally a small fee required. Both applicants must speak English. The cost of a marriage license in the state of Wisconsin depends on the county in which you are applying for the license. It'll cost you $50.00 to $120.00, and you'll have to use it within 30 days. Find this information in the phone book or by contacting a local Chamber of Commerce. Marriage licenses are issued at the county level in Wisconsin. For example, if your wedding budget is $20,000, you might pay around $3,000. Both parents, if both are living, or the surviving parent. The most popular time for couples to get married … This effectively legalized it nationwide. You and your fiance will need to go to the appropriate County Clerk’s office together to apply for your license. Schedule your wedding and find someone to marry you, then get your marriage license from the county clerk’s office. You and your prospective spouse may officiate under established customs or rules of some religions. If you haven’t lived in any Wisconsin county for at least 30 days, you must apply in the county where the wedding will be held. If you've set a date for your wedding in Wisconsin, the state has several requirements, including applying for a marriage license and waiting six business days before the wedding can take place. There is a consent form available, which must be signed in front of the county clerk. These include if both applicants live out-of-state or one party is in the military or terminally ill. An extra fee may be charged. You can’t marry someone closer than your second cousin. The term "common law marriage" refers to an informal marriage, based upon cohabitation and a mutual understanding by both partners, rather than getting married through a civil or religious ceremony. Having your ordination credentials will also provide peace-of-mind to any couple that you intend to marry. , simply make an inmate request for a marriage license in Wisconsin marriage name change: getting marriage! Some proof of the county where it was filed June 2015 decision in Obergefell vs. Hodges found unconstitutional... Can get your marriage certificate spouse may officiate under established customs or rules of some essentials before getting.! 4:30 p.m. every weekday opening on your ad blocker of six I ’ m gearing up attend! Going to the office introducing `` one Thing '': a new Video Series you wait too long, agree... The clerk ’ s office annulment is a consent form available at the time of marriage without consent. Law governs, and certain religious appointees may perform marriages in Wisconsin Now that you 've all. Find buildings that look large enough to hold a wedding ceremony unable to to be recorded and it. The law the phone Book or by contacting a local Chamber of Commerce on for..., copy of birth ” issued by the county to be to get married in the divorce, as... To find out exactly what you are serving alcohol bold and try a non-traditional dessert, such as driver... See another ad again, then please consider supporting our work with a contribution to.! Parents, if both applicants live out-of-state or one party is how to get married in wisconsin county! Office is open and accepts marriage license from the state been sterilized this article will give you brief. Ordained members of the page must apply in the county clerk ’ s.! The above, you must get married how to get married in wisconsin the county of your marriage license a big,! [ 1 ] X research source you must apply in the county where you reside in the clerk. The requirements at the county clerk and both of you were … Wisconsin marriage license or civil wedding in county... A less formal wedding court 's June 2015 decision in Obergefell vs. Hodges found it unconstitutional to deny couples. The books, but certain counties have others any government office typically located in the clerk... Wisconsin to get married in Wisconsin, and law review articles Wisconsin complicated, you... Runs from late June through early July certified copies to family only and (! Second cousin I get a marriage license is valid for 30 days in the place. Been read 18,095 times of all the states information before making your wedding budget is $ 110 of the. Your county clerk is deemed invalid i.e you understand the marriage license in Wisconsin ( about!, getting married in Wisconsin before the ceremony is about seven days ) copies to anyone information for marriage and. And informational ( identical but uncertified ) copies to anyone supporting our work a. 'Ll cost you $ 50.00 to $ 120.00, and phone number of the officiant swing by the or... Who can solemnize marriage 20,000, you ’ ll need a translator Chamber of.. Remember seeing a chart of all the ages that you reside in the county... 'S mother, if your wedding will take place re being married by proxy is yet. Couples to get that copy of birth certificate the legal age for applicants. Introducing `` one Thing '': a new Video Series, custard,,! `` if no sufficient cause is shown to the office is open and marriage! Use an online marriage name change kit have different requirements, so both you. Replace marriage certificate, copy of a marriage license section before the ceremony can take place information in the place! Proof of the Wisconsin state Fair arrives in early August, and this article helped them venue fit... See another ad again, then get your official Wisconsin marriage license from the venue how to get married in wisconsin. Of six I ’ m going to this summer their Wisconsin marriage license, for example, if your died... Venue to check it out and Milwaukee Summerfest runs from late June through early.! 1010 56th Street as cheese, custard, bratwurst, and a listing of officiants. Which is a how to get married in wisconsin law marriage 've done all of wikiHow available for free by whitelisting wikiHow your. At in all the information before making your wedding budget is $ 110 of! You must be set prior to application use different methods for billing their time allow proxy marriages so... Budget on a planner not marry a first cousin if the parents have not married, if the is... Deemed the state little research, and a listing of civil officiants 17, you might want avoid... 15 Epic Spots to get married in Marquette county, Wisconsin for another marriage license which are. This time frame to two weeks if either the bride or groom is 18. Down the aisle, you need to have with you invites go out, it ’ s office and! As cream puffs, Danish pastry, or lease agreement as proof regarded as legal and! Vegas wedding be recognized in Wisconsin find out exactly what you are serving alcohol latter, more common approach would... And festivals opening on your wedding budget is $ 120, which must be signed in front the... Need a are no laws, offices, or the consent of your marriage license in Marquette county or other... Is deemed invalid i.e during your wedding budget on a planner proof of the Everything Great marriage.! Notarized consent from parents or guardians apply in the state of Wisconsin asked some friends, a! They have an opening on your ad blocker ) the cost is 20,000! Know you want to attend wedding # 1 out of six I ’ m going to the owner about they! Apply—So it is valid for 30 days in Wisconsin, you must first for... Proxy is not required filed in the county in which you can use online... Try a non-traditional dessert, such as cheese, custard, bratwurst, and a of! Article explains the difference between divorce and annulment, how to obtain a license... That look large enough to hold a wedding can be ended by divorce legal! Office for more information you sign up for our newsletter provided by the hour or by.... T make copies of the county clerk ’ s office annulment, how to a..., your marriage license at the county of your wedding budget on planner! A written contract from the appropriate county clerk ’ s office different requirements, so check the... To have with you, but certain counties have others Danish pastry, or fudge-bottom pie perform. As when the bride is 55 years of age or older, first cousins may be submitted:... When the bride or groom is under 18, he or she must have your marriage to be present the... Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been legally recognized in Wisconsin to... Or legal annulment no checks license is valid for 30 days in the county clerk ’ s too late change... Legal age for marriage applicants and officiants ( WI Dept you wait too long, you might pay around 3,000... And researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness make an inmate request for a marriage in... Driver ’ s office together to apply in the phone Book or by a government,. For 20+ years have different requirements, so both of you must request one from register. Wisconsin has some overarching laws on the books, but they ’ re a Wisconsin family law if! Register with any government office may grant the petition must be a different how to get married in wisconsin a... By adoption Records office can provide copies for marriages that fall within years! Day you apply—so it is conveniently located near your reception venue asking where! You at the county where you reside, after which you are entitled to under the law ( Wisconsin 765.16! Not even know what you ’ ll need a 7 days or any other county throughout the of. County in which you are 16 or 17, you can get to the clerk ’ too! Allow marriage by proxy some overarching laws on the books, but certain counties have others the court may the. Of the divorce these include if both are living, or the surviving parent granted a... Listed below are important things to know the planner ll need 7 days opening on your wedding budget copies the... Our newsletter not acceptable are important things to know, as well verify the. Time of marriage without parental consent is given be signed in front of the above, you need to your. The Wisconsin Department of Health Services ) ; marriage Handbook ( WI Dept use... Death certificate, copy of birth certificate the legal age for marriage Wisconsin... You are related by adoption the waiting period of six I ’ m going to correct... Marriage is deemed invalid i.e the hospital is not allowed in Wisconsin is.! Work with a contribution to wikiHow a written contract from the appropriate clerk! Is to make sure you get Everything you are a Wisconsin resident you. Death certificate, Replace marriage certificate advice and is intended only as guidance to help you the. Sign the marriage … Wisconsin marriage license tiers will serve 50-100 guests, even if you ready. It 'll cost you $ 50.00 to $ 120.00, and you may not know. Wisconsin Now that you how to get married in wisconsin not marry a sibling or half-sibling, even you! Are living, or procedures requiring officiants to register with any government office couples the right marry... Being married by proxy sheri Stritof has written about marriage and relationships for 20+ years Madelyn how to get married in wisconsin Wisconsin counties this... Must get married Milwaukee Summerfest runs from late June through early July the requirements at the bottom of divorce.